Poets logo

Love From Afar

A poem about blood magic, based round a vision I observed the other morning. I know who the caster is but this sort of magic is old and only a small handful of people truly know how to practice this sort of magic in the way he was.

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Love From Afar
Photo by Caleb Santos on Unsplash

Please tell me that I'm safe? That I'm not insane?

For my mind is filled with visions of confusion

an image of candle flames burning bright

upon a elegant candle of black

carved into a beautiful female figure

yet as the surface wax of this black candle melts

dripping down as if in weeping tears of red

for these are the colours in magic of protection and love.

I see you there, a man of such respect

pulling a band-aid from your form

its blood soaks lint pulled away from its sticky base

before you place it within the flame

a blood ritual no less, an old act that's almost forgotten.

Magic of such repute that's lead me into insanity

blood magic for protection and love , how odd indeed

a blood binding with out consent , for I know it is I that you seek

but is it that what you truly wish for? To be blood bound to me?

Of what reason am I so special to you?

I shall never truly know from this ritual you preform is miles away from me

yet I feel its effect, as if I am split between this form and a form around you

this is unnatural magic so old it as ancient, how do you know this knowledge?

but one thing is for sure, this act of magic is both protecting me

and yet you seem to love me from afar.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.