Poets logo

Love Beyond The Veil: A Remembrance

To Every Mother Who Has Endured The Anguishing Loss Of A Son

By Sirena Carroll - The Blind Single MomPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
2
A Dall-e-generated image captures a tranquil gravesite bathed in soft sunlight. A white marble sculpture, a seated figure shrouded in a veil, rests beneath a stone structure with a simple cross at its peak. The backdrop, also of stone, bears an inscription, its letters not clearly discernible.

I have not forgotten fathers or lost daughters. This poem was simply born in its current form in response to an anguished mother after her son's death.

____________________

I may no longer be at home,

To show you that you’re strong.

Our time has flown,

Though you, who shone,

Will always be my mom.

I may no longer hold your hand,

Or point and ask you why.

Yet close I stand,

Through grief’s demand,

To comfort when you cry.

I see you faltering inside,

My absence forged a hole.

But Heaven’s gates

Don’t hide your face,

We’ll always share a soul.

I’m sorry that I can’t be there,

To one day take a wife.

But I’d not trade,

A single day,

With you, my mom, my life.

I watch you from a warm cocoon,

It’s my joy now, you see,

To lift you tall,

Each time you fall,

Until you walk with me.

I love you more than words convey,

Your milestones are mine.

The hurt will fade,

Like sun to shade,

Don’t be afraid of time.

Remember, take it breath by breath,

Right now, you feel bereft.

Trials and tears,

Anger and fears,

You’ll scoot, then crawl,

Then stand and fall,

You’ll walk, then prance,

You'll one day dance,

You’ll laugh, you’ll weep,

And one day sleep,

To find I never left.

____________________

If you like what you've read here, please comment and consider supporting my content by subscribing. Tips and pledges are always welcome, but your thoughts are the true gold.

heartbreaksad poetryFree VerseFamilyCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Sirena Carroll - The Blind Single Mom

Killing Misconceptions, One Story At A Time

I'm Sirena, a book-loving blind mom opening up on the unique life of single and co-parenting with a disability.

Follow And Friend

Instagram

Facebook

Message me to let me know who you are. 😀

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Oh, ouch 💔💔💔💔 But also so full of hope. Thank you.

  • Gosh this was so heartbreaking! Is this your personal experience? I hope not but if it is, then I'm so sorry 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.