Poets logo

Lost Things Wait for You to Find Them but Sometimes They Don't

Inverse Poetry

By Teresa RentonPublished 3 months ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
First Place in Inverse Challenge
56
Photo by author

You’ll find what you have lost

think of when you held it last

my inner sage counsels

retrace your steps

your misplaced charm will dangle

dizzying

in an angle of side-seeping light

with blinding iridescence

like misplaced keys

pimpernels in mischief mode

pinned to the place you left them

like the promises we planted

You can’t remember?

in biodegradable pots

white alliums for our wedding

Lost things

flung from prams by toddlers

like rainbow jellycats

to find lost things

retrace your steps

don’t lose parts of yourself

on the way

to where you need to go

Anchor a thread from now

unravel with intention

I'll follow the advice

I’ll collect heartbeats

in the missing rungs

of the ladder back to you

I’m at the bottom

germinating once again

reaching for an ambivalent sun

Is climbing the answer?

Does hickory crumble under pressure?

the creak of splintered rungs

step after step

could send me tumbling over

rejection’s hollow presence

Your soap lies cracking,

deliquescence lost

from the absence of your skin

I am a misplaced diary

Pages and pages of lost things

fireflies for a hungry dark

where night has lost its stars

Electricity sparks my cheek

flickers in a passing breeze

Your scent flirts with me

in unceasing symbiosis

Did we just share oxygen?

Are you near?

Did you dissolve with the sunlight?

if I retrace my clumsy steps

clinging to Hermes' arm

I know you won't be there

you left with traces of my touch

clinging to your skin

without me.

* * * * *

Now read it from bottom to top. Thank you ☺️

If you enjoyed this poem, maybe you’d like to read this abecedarian:

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse
56

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár18 days ago

    And congrats on winning the contest!

  • Divine poetry! I have the same question: "Does hickory crumble under pressure?" 🥰

  • Joe O’Connor29 days ago

    “ fireflies for a hungry dark where night has lost its stars” is a wonderfully vivid line Teresa, and you use imagery really well throughout this. I like the yearning tones, and also the presence of acceptance too. Nicely done🤗

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Happy belated congrats on such fine work. 🤩🤩🤩

  • Ava Mack2 months ago

    Truly wonderful, Teresa! A well deserved win on such a difficult challenge! Congratulations!

  • Wow that was so amazing! I see now why you won the challenge. Congrats on that by the way! But it’s amazing when someone can create a poem both backwards and forward like this, but yours is so detailed with such rich language it’s even more impressive going backwards and forwards with it. Really powerful stuff. Truly amazing!

  • Gina C.2 months ago

    Truly spectacular! This challenge was so difficult and you have nailed this. Amazing concept, execution, and word choice 😍😍 Congratulations, Teresa!

  • Linda Bromley2 months ago

    Just…. Wooow! I can see why you won this challenge. Congratulations… I’m still … this isn’t gonna leave me in a hurry. Wow! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    Oh, Teresa! This is imagery-rich and a delicious word smorgasbord! An absolute stunner of a poem! Congratulations on your brilliant win! *POM-POM-POMM-ING YOU* YAAAAYS!!!

  • Rebekah Crawley2 months ago

    The imagery in this is really beautiful, wow <3

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Phenomenal job! Congratulations!🎉

  • Lizz Chambers2 months ago

    Congratulations. Beautiful

  • Rebecca Morton2 months ago

    This was great! From lost little objects to finding things from a lost love. Congrats!

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Congratulations on a well-deserved win, Teresa!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Congratulations!

  • Lenita Lei2 months ago

    Woah! Nice story regardless of which end you start reading! Congratulations!

  • Donna Renee2 months ago

    Congratulations!! ❤️❤️

  • Rachel M.J2 months ago

    I have chills when reading this from end to start. Amazing. It completely changes the feel of the poem.

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Goodness, I ought to write a dissertation on this, Teresa. (Just a taste: "iridescence" echo-rhyming with "deliquescence"??? That is next level poetry for Vocal, my friend. Please publish this elsewhere too, find a publication that doesn't care it was posted here first!) "pimpernels in mischief mode pinned to the place you left them like the promises we planted" That alliteration is sublimely done. But the entire thing! I read it twice going forwards. And backwards, it's like the lines I didn't pay close enough attention to stood out to me, completely new. I think you've just won the entire category of what inverse poetry IS. This is a masterclass in it and I don't want to read any other. (I mean, I will... But you know what I mean.) Gosh, it's just so perfect. I can see the time and care you put into it. A long inverse like this must have taken weeks to finish. I'm so impressed by how the journey translates in the reverse reading. Absolutely incredible. That ladder bit is sticking in my brain.

  • Alyssa Nicole2 months ago

    This is such an amazing poem! Your imagery is absolutely wonderful. Congrats on first place! 🥳

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    WOW. This is truly outstanding- your incredible wordsmithing creates vivid images and a punch of raw- but very distinct- emotions, reading both up and down. Congratulations!!

  • PK Colleran2 months ago

    Excellent 💐

  • Congrats!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.