Poets logo

Lost

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
6
Lost
Photo by peter bucks on Unsplash

Oh, where did you go

Are you beneath the bed

Or in the pillow

Where are you strange fellow

Lost to eternity

How did you ever enter me

Where are you now

I miss you

Though we never fully met

I have forgotten you now

Somewhere between distraction, and the cow jumping the moon

Lost over misty mountain

Lost to the dripping fountain of my mind

You were here last night

But as I awoke in the morning

Your traces I could not find

My missing thought

Oh, why is it you I forgot

To wrestle you down

To pluck you from the sky

Now I’m left to wonder

Were you ever mine

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic
6

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Very well done, and certainly relatable.

  • This was so poignant 🥺 Loved your poem!

  • The ever-present problem with waking up.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    This reminds me of a poem I wrote about my lost night time poem. Very dreamy this one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.