Poets logo

Lost In The Algorithm

Humanity is Poetry in Motion

By CyCyPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
3
Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

Lost In The Algorithm

Note from me: This poetry/song has darker undertones.

It is a commentary on the state of our world and how we all interact with each other. Although I am also guilty of constantly checking my notifications, this poem is a reminder that there is more to life than how many likes, or clicks you get online.

P.S. Please remember to take breaks from the internet. Your mental health matters.

Validate my feelings

By how many clicks and likes I have.

Update my status.

Check my ranking.

Check what's trending.

Check the popularity!

Who and what is the New It?

Addicted to the constant ringing

Of my notifications.

A shot of dopamine into my brain.

Globally made closer

Through words and images

That are shared through

The power of technology.

Communication is made easier!

With an easy click.

Without the waiting game

If your postal mail

Will be rejected.

Yet, the sense of connection

Have never felt so fragile―

Filtered,

Fabricated,

And fictitious.

Connection made behind the screens,

Without verifying our true feelings.

A mere imitation

To what a human relationship can be.

To what a community can be.

Identity is lost in the statistics.

The human connection that is

Lost in the algorithm.

***Fin***

---

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it!

This is the tenth poem from Humanity is Poetry in Motion. The collection reflects politics, social commentary, and what it is like to be human.

Thank you for being a part of my journey and life. I truly appreciate you all.

Shout out to one of my faves, Phoebus Apollo 🖤☀️

Thanks for singing these poems, guiding me with composing music, and showing me different types of art.

A true bestie here. xo

Come check out my other surreal poem(s) as well:

  • I Heard You Calling My Name
I Heard You Calling My Name
Mighty She Is
Holy Cows!
The Problem with Immortality

---

More stuff from me:

Disclosure: Please note that if you choose to click on a link and make a purchase, I may receive cash compensation. Rest assured that I only recommend products that I personally find helpful or enjoyable, and that I believe may also be of interest to you. Click here to find out who I am currently partnered with and affiliated with.

Discover high-performance productivity and security tools with Microsoft 365. Follow the link to learn more.

Anyway, other than me fangirling about anime, books, comics, and shows/movies that I watch, I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

Speaking of anime, have you seen Chainsaw Man yet?

Have you seen Chainsaw Man yet?

If not, you're missing out! Click here to see my quick review of it.

Chainsaw Man City 44-Inch Wall Scroll

If you are also looking to build a website for your blogs, hobbies, store, or for anything at all, I recommend Bluehost.

Learn more about Bluehost

If you would like to learn more, read my article: Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders.

Why Bluehost is Perfect for the Novice Website Builders

P.S. I would genuinely appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, and/or leaving me a tip. If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

Fiverr Profile

performance poetrysocial commentaryfact or fiction
3

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.