Poets logo

Lost Friend

☺︎

By Ena Published 8 days ago 1 min read

I took a walk through my memory

Found you somewhere in the dark.

I’m not sure when

We were still young

And it was nice to see you happy again.

Time has a way of changing

When you play it back in reverse.

You needed me, but I didn’t see

I let the door close…

When I should’ve busted in.

I couldn’t say where it started

But I can be sure where it ends.

It ends with you, always with you

And if there was a word for it…

I wish I didn’t leave it unsaid.

I’ve never been one

For light conversation.

I’d often rather think than to speak.

You didn’t mind,

You weren’t like me…

You’d fill the room with the words in your head.

The memories they seem

So vivid to me…

The years just seem now to bleed.

There’d be a song, and you’d hum along

And I try to keep that with me.

Joy can be a fragile thing

Somehow, you lost yours.

It's easy to feel it all when you're young

It's easy to want to feel numb.

You tried to explain

But I didn't listen.

The words, just seemed, so strong.

Now after these years,

They haunt me still...

And I'd hear them all if I could.

I took a walk in the dark in the morning.

It was cold and wet but it smelled evergreen.

I know that I was angry then,

But when I got back I slept again…

And I’m still sorry for the things that I said.

Friendship

About the Creator

Ena

Deciphering the classics by day, brewing up new stories by night. Shakespearean sonnets to sci-fi sagas, I love it all! English Lit student exploring different worlds through literature on Vocal Media.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ena Written by Ena

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.