Poets logo

Looking Glass

Reflection

By Erin BarteskiPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
4
Looking Glass
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

Trying to find a crack in the mirror

Shadowed face, distorted reflection

Fingers trace over the cold surface

Blood smears left behind

Break apart, piece by piece

Like the pieces of my soul

Sharp jagged mirror in hand

Time to end what's begun

So close to what could have been

Clock ticks, Seconds ring

Infinite tone

The jagged piece enters the skin

The night portrays the demons within

No one sees me

Memories play on a loop

All these scars, impossible to cover

Afraid of everything

I would give it all up for nothing

Reality drips away from my grasp

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Erin Barteski

Fascination with the unknown

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Isabella Rose5 months ago

    "No one sees me." I like the juxtaposition of this line against the desire to hide that is elsewhere in the poem. Living this way is such a puzzle.

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Hey, I just want to let you know I've shared this poem in my recent story: https://vocal.media/poets/poppy-s-preferences-pt3

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Wow, this is a very well written poem but also really tragic. Thank you for sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.