Poets logo

Long Odds

Gamblers, man

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Long Odds
Photo by Todd Greene on Unsplash

your TV repairman

turned stepfather

lines up

metal folding chairs

between

the aboveground pool

and the bank

of outdoor TV sets

lining the double-wide

setting the stage

moments before

the pack

arrives

*

they take

their seats

before

their gods

as if they know their places

each to his throne

the lot of them

sinking

into their outdoor offices

offering silent prayers

to the basketball gods,

the football gods,

the indifferent gods

placing folded bills

like open secrets

into hidden jacket compartments

that anyone,

even your baby brother,

could find

*

on rectangular strips

of unlined white paper,

they scratch number two pencil notes

keeping records,

each using some unbreakable code he made up once

and now,

given it worked once

way back when,

he has to use it

always

*

your mother tosses in

a four-cheese

while smoking

and drinking

and pacing

the full length

of the low ceiling

living room

kicking her painted toes

into beige low pile

passing by

toys

and empty soup cans

and drugstore Malbec bottles

and yesterday’s news

anxious

for her numbers

to come up

*

and you can’t

hang out

with me

again

because

your baby brother

needs watching

and it won’t be anyone else

on account of

it never is

and I’m thinking

I’m getting

kind of

fed up

with the way

you’re always

putting

yourself

last

*

you deserve

so much better

than what you’re getting

*

so I throw down

what I’m holding,

nod to orange vest with the ruddy face

and smart watch

who took my last few

doubling down

in the second

and

if I’m lucky—when I get lucky—I’m telling you

for real

this time

I’m getting

you out

***

Copyright © 02/16/2019 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! for my recommendations, my writing and others’.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY 2024

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Well done, My Friend. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.