Poets logo

Broken Angel

Made of stone

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 years ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
4
Broken Angel
Photo by Ralf Skirr on Unsplash

someone broken

returned her

chipped,

marble sacrifice,

fallen angel toppled

off the back --

one too many

questionable turns

down a dead end street

I imagine

*

patron saint of underdogs

I got her for a song

for you

and now

I cannot even

look her in the eyes

*

you held my waist

and waited

for me

to keep you safe,

your helmet

too big to fit

just yet

*

you hold on to me

still,

even now

*

I place white tulips

at your angel’s wobbly feet

and try to whisper

solemn words

like prayers

*

I can’t…

*

silence tenses

in my gut

and I pretend

to check the time

as if

we

have someplace else

to be

and it’s my job

to get you there

*

and still

I am here

and

you are

here

*

so I close the gate

behind myself

and walk the cobblestones

reminded of your tiny feet

and your short sweet stride,

and how you’d lift up

your hand to hold mine

and the last time you

held my hand

and the last time you

held my waist

and the last time

you let go

and

*

you whisper

let go.

let me go

*

and I am leaving you behind

in a room

with a view

and a winged marble martyr

someone

broken

once

returned

***

Copyright © 04/28/2020 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out my Welcome! article 👋🏻 for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga2 months ago

    love's enduring presence amidst broken dreams.

  • Test2 months ago

    A poignant tribute to love's sacrifice, whispered in the silence of broken dreams and fallen angels.Loved it! keep up the good work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.