Poets logo

Long-Distance Love

A Contradiction

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Photo by PublicDomainPictures on Pixabay

She gets off on all the love in my words

I, on the love they promise I will have

She lives far away in love and by strife

What hope in heaven or hell can I have

Words are sent using our love's language codes

I comprehend them all, that’s all I have

I count the hours, I tabulate the days

What’s the point, I wonder, what will I have

I don’t sleep well, cannabis seems to help

She’s stronger than God’s plant, that’s what I have

She’s too hot in bed, that’s all I can hold

That’s how I behave, what else can I have

She smiles on the screen of every eyeball

What wouldn’t I give for her smile to have

love poems

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    What wouldn’t I give for her smile to have - couldn't be more true! Great Poem

  • shanmuga priya4 days ago

    What a heart-wrenching and poignant poem ! The repetition of "what can I have" adds a poignant rhythm to the verse...I enjoyed reading it.

Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.