Poets logo

Like me for Love me Despite

Like me for my qualities and love me despite my imperfections

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like me for Love me Despite
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

The past few days,

I have given myself a moment to breathe,

to see clearly,

what you really mean to me,

My eyes have focused in on you more,

prolonging my attention towards you,

when you are not looking at me,

my heart is radiating a love at you that I can easily see,

It's not as tangible as the What I love about You's that I wrote,

it doesn't change the way we have both angerly spoke,

But I am finding myself connecting to every cheesy movie quote,

As if it has a significance of a feeling I know,

Because I like you for all of your qualities, and will love you despite,

I like you for being curious over the smallest of things,

and I will love you for talking to a mushroom as if is living,

I like you for making every meal an experience,

And I love you even when you get me to spend money on anything other than rent,

I like you for turning the mundane into a game,

And I will love you even if it goes too far and ends in pain,

I like to be able to a future with you,

and I love being able to feel love for you,

Because every goodbye feels incomplete without it being said,

Every good morning is missing something next to our bed head,

Every soft moment shared,

Is absent of those words that show the most care,

Those three words that are the backbone of any fight,

that take away the ammunition behind fight of flight,

It makes everything about us more,

And sharing that with you is sharing a part of my core,

So, this is what I ask of you,

I need you to like me for my quirky and cute moods,

But love me even when I am sassy and hungry,

I need you to like me for my dreams and desires,

and love me to know when I need space to pursue them,

I need you to like me for my spontaneous adventures,

and love me despite my constant calculations,

I need you to like me when I am radiating positivity and laughter,

and hold and reassure me when I am feeling defeated,

I need you to like me for and love me despite,

I need you to like me for me and love me for everything else,

Because I do for you,

I want you to know it's true,

That Is in truth am in love with you.

So be gentle with me,

And love me back please.

love poems

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.