Poets logo

Letters from nobody

Stalking by another name

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Letters from nobody
Photo by Myrlene NUMA on Unsplash

Bright orange envelope,

A proper letter like in the olden days,

With a stamp and hand written.

With, what looks like proper ink

From an ink well, maybe a feather.

It has got my name and address

But no return address at the back.

I listen no ticking,

I touch and sniff it

And think a card, maybe.

It is not my birthday

Nor any other day warranting a card.

Some advertising,

A joke,

A ticket to the theatre, from Seb?

Why don’t I just go in,

Make some coffee and inspect

Instead of speculating.

The excitement grows,

I never get post,

Just the odd official thing once a week or two,

Nothing much, recycling material mostly.

But this bright orange envelope

At the end of January has a promise

Of happier times and no more coats and gloves.

The stamps tells, it’s been send locally.

I don’t recognise the hand writing.

Who would send me a card,

In a bright orange envelope

If they just live down the road.

All this doesn’t make sense.

I treat myself to the lift for a change.

The steam of the coffee is thawing my nose.

I get ready to open the envelope

Will do it with a kitchen knife

To make the cut nice and neat.

And inside a card,

With the words

Hi sweetie how is life?

Not much to go on,

A prank, a secret admirer,

I forget about the card,

It is there on the mantel piece,

The bright colour

Cheers me up no end.

The mysterious message gives me goose bumps.

Until the following Thursday,

When a similar bright orange envelope

Is waiting for me.

This time I rip it open,

There and then.

A picture of me smiling,

Day dreaming at a café.

But I was there with Lauren,

Quick phone call to check where she is

And off I run

Towards the taxi stand.

She has already bought me a drink

And I push the picture towards her.

She looks at me and smiles,

Hugo my new boyfriend.

Likes to take pictures.

Does he send them in orange envelopes?

Does he send weird messages to your friends too?

Then she breaks down and

Explains she has broken up with him,

And since then he follows her around.

When his other commitments allow him

And bombards her with pictures.

Horrible stuff, of himself

Or mutilated body parts

She doesn’t know what to do,

We go to the police and

She texts all her friends

To check if he has bother others too.

Sometimes No is the hardest thing to say.

and to hear and accept.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jeannine KauffmannWritten by Jeannine Kauffmann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.