Poets logo

Letter 04/20/21

04/20/21

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

04/20/21

Dear Unnamed,

Do you remember this day last year? We were madly in love and happy. We were at Justin’s house with the gang and partying it up. It was my first 4/20 and you all made it perfect. We smoked out back and I sat in your lap because a junebug flew into my leg and I couldn’t cope. Then we hotboxed your Jeep. There were a lot of us and it got seriously intense. I was high out of my mind before we even got to the car.

Do you remember all of this? It was a perfect night, and I miss it all. But, more than anything, I miss you. I miss being madly in love and I miss your smile and laugh. I miss racing down the highway in your old, beat up Jeep with the windows down, hand in hand, while we sang along to The Beach Boys at the top of our lungs. I miss the way you made my heart skip and the way you would run to me and bury me in hugs when you got home from work. We said we loved each other a month before, and you suggested we move in together and make our own home a month later. You said you needed me. We needed each other. We were madly in love. I miss the way we were in love. I miss the way you loved me. I miss the way we were happy.

Do you remember how good we had it? How good we were together? I miss us dearly and hope you remember us as sweetly as I do.

Love,

Yours

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.