Poets logo

Lesson of the season

Some people are blessings and some people lessons

By Yvette AriasPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read

A blessing in disguise they would say, but for me Letting go at some point wasn’t an option till your absence lit the way and led me through the darkness

Looking back now, seeing things with new content, the colors that I once saw in you turned into murkiness

A new feeling that I never had before appeared so instantly, allowing me to see things and live my life like I never had before

Pushing through sticks and stones, I kept myself up; while you lead the crowd to run all over me like if I was trash laying on scrapping grounds

Now you look at me, asking why that smile, letting me know there’s a glow in my eyes you hadn’t seen in a while

The sad truth is that it’s a look that you don’t recognize because the love you showed only new the tears in my eyes and that’s what made you smile

but I loved you so much I was okay with you drowning me down, while you knew that loosing you was one of my biggest fears as you used my love against me to hold on to future years

Although my love was pure

I had to learn how to say goodbye

The love I wanted wasn’t good for me and at the time I didn’t understand why

Now I finally understand that for better things to come you have to let something’s go, now I feel blessed and more than thankful to be able to say goodbye to the lesson of that season.

love poemsheartbreakbook reviews

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    The love I wanted wasn’t good for me and at the time I didn’t understand why. That line hit me so hard because that was once who I was. Loved your poem!

YAWritten by Yvette Arias

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.