Poets logo

By the ferris wheel ride

Love within the moment

By Yvette AriasPublished 7 months ago 1 min read

Ferris wheel rides, cotton candy sticks with the smell of funnel cakes all around

Family’s and couples and kids with face paintings all around

My friends and I walking all together within the crowd, as one tells me to cheer up and loosen up because I deserve better and to please smile now

I stop and stare while nodding okay

The more I laugh and joke the easier it seems to get

Till I spot a couple kissing by the swinging swings, reminding me of what used to be

Me smiling and giving you a cute naughty look is what you would say to me, as I held onto your hand as your other hand caressed my smiling face, While I looked into your eyes hoping this ride would never end

We hugged, we joked, ate everything we thought we couldn’t, we laughed and laughed till our cheeks went sore and we no longer couldn’t

You held me tight as I smiled at you, You attempting to kiss me thinking that you wouldn’t

That I’d pull away saying that we shouldn’t, but little did you know that I was all in before your lips touched mine because you gave me feelings that no one else ever couldn’t

what seemed to be my fairytale fair night ended too perfectly so I thought after that night; holding hands, pulling me close while taking me home and kissing me goodnight

To only love me for a short time

In the present now as my friends and I wait in line

Gently pushing my curls away from my face , I smile while shaking my head with a sigh

while looking at the couple by the swinging swings hoping they get a longer ride

Hoping they make memories to keep

for when next year comes, they stand together in my spot with a different view as they wait for the Ferris wheel ride.

By D. Yvette Arias

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Now this gave a roller coaster of emotions. Your poem was so beautifully written!

YAWritten by Yvette Arias

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.