Poets logo

Legendary Short Stories: Enigmaa Me

By Legend Gilchrist

By Legend GilchristPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Legendary Short Stories: Enigmaa Me
Photo by Nicola Fioravanti on Unsplash

Enigma me: The story of a simple man, the story of a complex man.

I am a man. Yes, a man. Yet, more than a man. I am a superhero of sorts. I am a villain of sorts. I am an enigma wholly and completely. I am a failure. I am a success. I am a loser AND a winner if you can believe that. I am holy and unholy. A saint and a sinner. A sojourner and a hopelessly disabled cripple. I am simply a man.

Who I am, you may ask. A very good question, I would say. The answer to your question is both simple and complex. Do you have time to learn the answer? I hope that you do. I am both a simpleton and a philosopher. I am a lunatic who has taken over the asylum and as sound as an English Pound in any fine and respectable bank in London, England. I am a simple man. I am an enigma.

I am nothing. I am something. I am wrong. I am right. I am an imbecile. I am a genius of sorts, anyway. I am everything I have ever hoped to be and yet I am an utter failure at nearly everything. I am wonderful at times and I am a disappointment at times. I am cheerful. I am depressed. I am happy. I am sad. I am up. I am down. Way, way down sometimes. Way, way, way down.

I am. No, not that I am, another lesser I am. Way, way, way lesser. I am, in fact and in truth, not the I am you may be thinking about. My apologies if I have either angered or offended you by the spouting off of my inane words. And yet, I don’t apologize for saying what I feel or what I think. Fuck you if you think I am wrong to write what I feel.

I hate. I am in love. I am all that is good in the world, I am all that is bad in the world. I am not what you suppose me to be.

I love righteousness. I snicker at wicked fun. I like certain things, I hate others. I feel wronged at times. I feel right at times. I am not in control. Yes, usually, I am not in control. I am a man of certain fortunes. I am a man of miserable losses. I am a hero. No, I am not a hero. I already indicated that.

I love, I cherish, I adore. I despise, I refuse, I vehemently disagree. I am a philosopher. I am a clown. I never needed anything. I desperately need you and yet, I don’t need you. I don’t. I don’t. I don’t. Actually, I do, I really do.

I do not care and yet I care immensely. I say things I regret and I also say things much too wise for holy books. My hands shake incessantly yet my heart is rock solid. I have few friends. I have many acquaintances. People consider me a stranger. Friends consider me a brother. I am a nobody. I am everybody’s nobody.

I am a weirdo, freak, misfit, geek, dumbo, ignoramus, idiot, genius, all around nice guy, gentleman, a fine one at that . I’m a venturer in a strange new world. I’m a stranger in a world of venture. Let me heal in this strange land, land opportunity. Where I am going nobody knows but me and that’s the only way I would have it.

Sing me a song, you’re a singer. Do me no wrong, oh bringer of evil, you have got to bleed for this dancerl. On and on I travel from heaven through hell. The ending is just the beginning. Oh it’s on and on and on and on. Heaven and hell, fool.

If it seems to be real, it's an illusion. Love can be seen as the answer. But what is love anyway? It is but an illusion in a cloud of dreams. At least that is how it appears to this poor soul.

I am everything you are not: And then some. I am a shining star among darkness. I am sugar in a world of salt. I am spice to a I am like so many things and more. And yet, I am nothing. I am exactly not like you. And yet, I AM you. And I will forever and for all times be you. Forever and ever, Amen.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Legend Gilchrist

I am a retired English teacher. I have been writing for 27 years. I live in the Palm Springs area of Southern California. I am a poet, writer, and novelist. I enjoy writing about rock music culture. I hope to write for Rolling Stone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.