Poets logo

Leave Them In The Rearview

Don't Look Back. You're Not Going That Way.

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Leave Them In The Rearview
Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

Close your eyes.

Relax.

Open your mind.

Allow it to wander back in time.

.

When you reminisce, where do you go?

How far back do you rewind?

So many memories

Just there on the periphery.

Some crystalline, others blurred by the tarnish of time.

.

Would you like a glimpse into mine?

I’m surrounded by strangers.

People I once thought were my family

Now, only a distant memory.

.

I existed in their orbit,

Yet they never cared enough to know

The real me, no not even remotely.

I was at their beck and call.

So loyal, I always gave them my all.

.

When I needed them?

They were all too busy,

Otherwise occupied.

No time to answer

Yet still expected me to come when called.

.

No one was ever there for me.

In fact, they caused what would ultimately befall.

I was trapped in their world,

Weighted down with obligation.

.

They, however, had no such reservation.

Turned their backs in a flash

Their only concern or motivation, cash.

What a welcome relief to finally tell them to just kiss my ass.

.

Now they’re merely fading images in the rearview.

No longer a factor in my life

Nor will they be a detriment to my future.

I refuse to be bogged down beneath such strife.

. . .

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

This poem was originally published on Medium:

performance poetrysocial commentarysad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    I hate it when family only treats you like a walking bank. Good riddance!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Inspirational! Great advice and attitude. :)

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Medicinal and restoring, I commensurate with this piece. Good work! ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great poem and even better message. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.