Poets logo

Ladder

Climb To Fulfill

By Susan WilkinsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Human Ladder, East Side, NYC, 1940s (photo by Morris Huberland)

Killing each other is a trick and a trap

Get over yourself and stop all that crap

Gangs were invented to keep us safe

Not kill us and make us have to find a safe place

When I see you I shouldn’t have to wonder if you’re a danger or nice

I should see you and feel now I know I’m alright

What’s mine is yours

What’s yours is mine

When we learn this

Then all will be fine

The answer to the riddle is

There is no "I’m big and you’re little"

To hurt me is to hurt you

I’m here to be your ladder

To be your help

To let you climb on me

To reach that top shelf

Sometimes you’re the ladder

Sometimes I am

The key to this game that’s life

Is to find the loopholes and have the right key

You may have it or it may be me

When you get up there and find the treasure

Hand some down and we can measure it out

Then do it again

That’s what it’s all about

It’s not about bringing the pain

It’s about working together and finding the gain

Even if you don’t like me, there’s something we can do

Just don’t hurt me and I won’t hurt you

Don’t be a bringer of stress and strife

Don’t be a menace

Be a bringer of life

LIFE means to

Live

In

Freedom

Everyday

If you kill me and lay me out dead

You may never succeed

Because I was the key to unlock what was in your head

Now it will never get out

Because you put me in a hole

I’m laid out

Now you’ll never fulfill your role

You see. ..

You killed yourself

When you killed me

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Susan Wilkins

I write stories and poetry. Lately I have put up a science fiction story and a children's story. I love to write and Vocal has given me a platform to do that. P.S. I love reader comments! Let me know what you think. Please enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Susan Wilkins (Author)2 years ago

    Seek to figure it out, instead of shooting it out!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.