Poets logo

Keep Coming Back

A Poetic Reflection

By Kayla LindleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
Keep Coming Back
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

How can it seem that you can control me?

My thoughts,

My feelings,

Everything?

The more I pull away,

The more you want me back,

Sometimes it seems it is just for laughs.

I don't know how or why you do it,

I just know I cannot make it through it without you.

I can not help but stare,

The way you look at me can not compare,

It just gets me through the simple things that life brings.

When I try to forget you come in forgotten places,

It runs across my mind in a sad sort of way.

I want to forget and move on in my life,

But you're holding me hostage in the sands of time.

I want to go away and be free,

Kind of like an angel with wings.

You are the past, let it stay that way.

I do not love you anymore,

You are not for me,

Just breathe

It is simple you see.

I am no longer present,

It is just you and your old memories of me.

For more insight on content like this, or you love short stories please consider subscribing to my page! Leave a like, and let me know what you loved or didn't love- feed back is really important to help me grow!

-Kayla

love poems
6

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazmin Fernandezabout a year ago

    I Love the word, 'Just Breathe' :) so beautiful

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That one's wistfully beautiful. Very nostalgic!

  • Nice piece❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.