Poets logo

Just Who, Am I?

The Many Faces And Hats, Of A Person

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
Just Who, Am I?
Photo by Andrew Seaman on Unsplash

I don't know exactly when it happened, but somewhere along the course of my being, I lost my identity.

I am sure I am not alone in this revelation, let me explain...

I am a twin, so, I have always been referred to as my brothers, (Kirk's) twin. And to my other siblings, Mick, Marty Kim and Kris, I was their little sister, tormentor and brat, sometimes all in the same day.

I reveled in being Boyd and Sandy's youngest daughter, Claude and Virginia's granddaughter, my aunt's and uncle's niece, and cuz to many cousins.

In school, I was "so and so's" best friend, and "such and such" - teacher's student. Hey, you or aren't you related to one of the other 5 kids in the Sheckler family?

When I began dating, I was the girlfriend, or his ex.

Engaged, I was his fiancé.

When I married, I was Mrs.....honey, babe, sweetie or any given title that got the job done.

Then, I had children.

I was Nizhoni's mom, Wynter's mom; mom, mom, mom, mommy, mom, mom, mom!!

The class mom, the mom volunteer, or Mrs. mom on fieldtrips.

At work, I am the receptionist, mail lady and FedEx, shipping guru, (self -titled) assistant to the executive assistant.

You get my drift.

We've all surrendered a part of our identity to fit and blend in, developing and building this safe haven, which aids us in belonging to our people, our tribes.

Even on Vocal, we are lovingly referred to as creators, writers, subscribers and in the communities, I have nestled into...incredibly gifted and talented authors, designers, inventors and masterminds!

But do you ever feel overlooked, mislabeled, separated or forgotten?

When are we ever, just ourselves, (in my case, Kelli.)

What do I really know about her? What does she like or dislike. What are her interests when no-one else is around?

Maybe you have experienced these same issues and have discovered ways of maintaining your identity, amidst the loving chaos, of the hats we all don.

I am currently in that process today. Rediscovering the person, I vaguely remember from my past, letting her decide who she wants to be.

Becoming a transformation of being.

With my own unique identity.

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalhumorfact or fictionlovehumorfamilyfact or fictionadvice

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Test6 months ago

    Hear this so loudly. It's not until very recently that I've started figuring out who me is without all the noise and the labels. Fascinating piece that I'm sure will resonate with many 🤍

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    I think we all have asked this question of 'Who am I?' Just remember we are created in one image and you know who that is.

  • Shirley Belk8 months ago

    Kelli, great job! Reminded me of my young motherhood and wifely days.

  • This has got me thinking. I'm always someone's something. When was I ever just me? I need to find her

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    It's a continuing process of reinventing yourself, but you are still you!!! Loved your story!!!

  • Let the age of discovery commence & may you be well-rewarded for it, my friend.

  • Kellie. Wow. I feel every sentence , every word you wrote. Thank you for expressing feelings of so many sisters 💃

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.