Poets logo

Junction

-

By Lisa HerdmanPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
4

The Sun was setting around the windows,

a dusty sort of start to the dance.

Is this a funeral? Or a wedding?

I smile at the little girl across from me,

the question floating around us with

the band gearing up again.

/

Surprisingly, neither. It’s a reunion.

/

Re-un-ion. She says.

/

Her hands are twisting around a

flower necklace, large and hard silver

and so pretty on a girl that loves

to ask questions.

/

I want to say

Where did you get your courage,

Moon child?

When did you start watching

the band play instruments

and learning to listen?

/

I have been here quietly,

for so long it seems,

confused, and intending to stay that way.

/

She fists the material on my shirt suddenly,

and I perk to attention.

What is it, my love? I coo at her.

She gives me a big smile,

and a gentle cock of her head,

Oh, nothing. I just like this shirt.

/

I forgot we can just do things

without any other intention.

/

We should dance.

Her statement is followed with eyes

like the night shade in full,

and her hands find mine

in sure touches that tell me,

Here we go, and we don’t need to know why.

social commentarysad poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    And we can love this little vignette you have shared with us with no need to give a reason other than it filled our hearts & made us smile. (Might even have brought a tear to our eyes.)

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Hi Lisa ~ Where have you been ~ Haven't seen you on this side of the pond lately - This is so lovely and not with just a "Little-Touch" of deep thought to create - Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.