Poets logo

Jasmine Vanilla

Poems from Journal Titled, Black and Blue (2018 - 2019)

By Alyssa "Lefty" P.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
A bruise always changes colors before it heals.

"JASMINE VANILLA"

Poem derived from my first completed journal, Black and Blue (2018-2019). Written July 5th 2016.

~~~~~~~

Jasmine Absolute inspires

sexy self-confidence while

Vanilla Absolute soothes.

The sultry, soft scent that glides

on my skin after I

dry myself off from a refreshing,

cold shower

sends a slow exhale of relief

and a tranquility through my

blue veins.

I am reminded of this one man

in this moment,

God has a rather magical way

of allowing people in this world

to cross paths.

You crossed my mind that one hot night

the first .time around.

But the second time, he stopped.

He stopped and smiled at me,

a smile so genuine and beautiful

that it awakened my sense

during a time in my life when

I had no enticing Jasmine scent

to strengthen the love I have for my

bare skin.

Days went by,

and he shone a light into my soul,

filling my tastebuds with soothing, sweet flavors

of cinnamon, brown sugar

and a warm French Vanilla

to ease the rapid heartbeat

that keeps me from being myself.

He rushes all the blood to my brain

as I begin to tell him

my deepest, darkest secrets,

and his warm embrace and

sense of candid, raw acceptance

of my fucked up flaws

has me convinced that

Guardian Angels do exists on Earth

as well as dimensions beyond our human understanding.

He doesn't realize how

beautiful and transcendental he truly is

and I can't ever put in words

the deep passion i've grown for him almost

overnight.

But I can tell him this:

He is my Jasmine Vanilla.

He motivates me to let the dimmest light

that exists within the complex depths of my soul

shine so bright.

He makes me feel self confident,

sexy,

invincible.

He ignites the flames that make my

knees weak and

my butterflies flutter violently in my chest,

but he eases the leftover,

aching pain that drags my soul into

darkness.

In his presence,

there is no darkness.

In your presence,

I am free.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa "Lefty" P.

28 year-old NuYoRican from Spanish Harlem who has a passion for writing, learning, achieving peace, faith, and empowering others. I've established a career as an educator and career counselor for over five years. Instagram: @alyssaleftyp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.