Poets logo

It's Not Just Me

When You're Feeling Alone...Read This.

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
It's Not Just Me
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Why does it feel like

Just as I start believing

The world comes crashing down

Around me?

I keep smiling, I keep trying

But people are dying.

The big world keeps on turning yet,

Random moments I break down crying.

Where are you God?

How’d I fuck this one up,

By getting my hopes up again

That life was indeed beautiful?

Stuck between the blame,

And the shame of assuming

I had anything to do with it,

While keeping my ego out of this.

When does the intensity

Dial down and I won’t

Feel the urgency to

retreat?

I’m simply tired of one

thing after the next, and it's

not easy to see

the bigger picture anymore.

But I hold on each time I fall

into the rabbit hole.

I hold on to the proof around

That no matter what I feel,

It's not just me.

We know the ones who’ve felt it too

When I say I see you, I deeply do.

Maybe we carry it in our eyes,

Or the biggest, brightest smiles.

Maybe that's how we know.

Or it’s the way we try extra

to light up the room, and

make everyone feel good.

Maybe it’s a feeling when my soul

Recognizes your soul and

Without words, we know we are alike…

So can’t we both keep going?

Maybe…

But, another year, a few more leave us,

And I’m tired, because I'm still here to witness

And I suppose, so are you…

That gives me hope to hold on to.

Can you see me still here?

Because I thought about it too.

I did. I thought about it too.

Can God forgive us?

You know more than I do.

And since we are alike,

when i fight for me,

I fight for you.

When I tell another person

“you’re not alone”,

truly - I mean it,

Because I see you.

And so I see now

If I see you, it's not just me

you must see me,

humanity’s reflections…

You see me too.

(Believe <3 )

sad poetry

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverWritten by NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.