Poets logo

It's Me Not You

This poem is about a struggle between a person loving another, due to past mental injuries of another person. Can they take the risk?

By Alexis CantuPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

Wake up in the morning not wanting to move

Tossing and turning don’t know what to do

I know how I’m supposed to feel but I bring myself to you

Still stuck on my mind girl like glue

Under the covers my demons hold me to

But I can’t carry on I’m lost in blues

Trapped and I’m locked up the key gone but my feeling for you still linger on

Different scenarios pass by as I try to figure out why?

In my mind we could be happy talking but instead I’m blocking

Can’t keep up with these emotions, there’s no talking

You’re a memory dancing in my mind but you’re a con

'Cause nothing was real I was just a pawn

I got people waiting for me to carry on

Carry on like nothing happened as if you were gone

But I can’t carry on I’m lost in the blues

All I can think about is how I should love you

You can try to drag me on but there’s no hitting snooze

I was used, mistreated, hated for many reasons

Still trying to find myself I might choose

To let you go before you could be of use

My mind is a canvas of darkness with no artist

You could try to paint the white but the black will bleed through

I just wanna smile, smile with you

Be genuinely happy, only being us two

We both lay in bed wanting to break through

A wall that we built up too soon, protecting us from each other we don’t know what to do

Take a risk and leap in, is love myth that happened to slip in

I know what I want but I can’t feel what I thought

Can you carry on with me, if not just be free like the bird I wish to be.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Alexis Cantu

Writing poetry has been apart of me since elementary school. When I write, I write with my emotion and real self, no holding back. It's a way of getting others to relate to me and for me to express myself to others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alexis CantuWritten by Alexis Cantu

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.