Poets logo

It's all me

Introspective poem.

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
10
It's all me
Photo by Ben Allan on Unsplash

Drag my name and worth

through muck and mire

distracted

by

I know know know

years

I did - it's all on me

Graze my heart and soul

of

love

unshared

through glass and steel

shards rip flesh and and

and

I know I did, it's all me

promises

inflict my pain and hurt

unfulfilled

through those I love

remembered

I know know know

that

I did it all

first

dragged the best

and

through the worst

last

turned gold to grit (worthless)

light

forgot the caring bit

forever

forged my pathway

full

crooked hallway

leads to the light

of

mistakes

not without a fight

cast off the me

I know know know

I was, though not before

I change my path

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: More digital sofa WIP clearing. This is a fusion piece of two poems I've had banging around separately. I think they work quite well together.

Here are more things:

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer30 days ago

    Way to own it with style I say

  • Who else is there to blame for the stuff I've done & things I've put others through?

  • Jess Boyesabout a month ago

    Another great piece!

  • Lindsay Sfaraabout a month ago

    There is such deep meaning to this, and you crafted this poem so well. And there's such a feeling of resolution at the end for me, but also with a drive to move forward with a "changing path." I love this piece, Paul. Well done!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Great piece, Paul! Can’t believe it was once two separate poems, it felt perfectly cohesive. Liked the repetition of “I know” felt like such an authentic response to a nagging accusation

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Read this one aloud to myself, for myself. Now I'm breathless.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.