Poets logo

Me Ves Y Sufres

For Poppy's Prompts Thingo (April) a poem.

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
10
Me Ves Y Sufres
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

So often I sabotage my own mind

with memories of brighter times

(that did exist)

the grass is greener, sky bluer

(that were at times)

in my memories of darker times

(that did exist)

strawberry-flavoured hallucinations

(laced with counterfeit sweetness)

cloud out the stormiest times

*

Those character building times

when the future can be changed

rearranged, deranged

into a tangled mess

one path leads one way

but those detours

oh, those detours

disposable hearts and soluble minds

*

What kind of glass are you?

the question I struggle to answer

glass half full of water

clearer than it ever really was?

how can we really answer?

how can I really answer?

when my memories are bastardised

*

I need to try and remember

the good and less the bad, the ugly

remember the laughter, the games

the Holidays, like Madonna

and not the...darkness and sadness

the mixed emotions and anxiety

*

Play that cassette, the one I loved

with all the classics

let the memories flood my mind

take me back to those simpler times

your drunken body in the kitchen

face first in the masala

the strong scent of piss

where was Mr. Blue Sky then?

*

Change the cassette to that other one

the one with all the other classics

Sacrifice, Princes of the Universe

occasional Night Fever, oddities

like Toto, Racey and Boney M

that song from MASH and The Chain

The Chain broke a long time ago

what did you Sacrifice?

just for the hoppy, spirit buzz

I doubt suicide is painless

but...a reprieve?

*

If only you had heeded The Right Profile

instead of late nights in ugly drunk style

*

Play that cassette, the one I hate

the one about distant figures

who can't reach you, not quite

emotionally bankrupt, your gift

remember the song, the sad song

Cats in the Cradle, is that...

is that what you became? In turn

(when you coming home?)

is that what I became?

(when will I be mentally...there? I wonder)

without dwelling too much

I always hoped you would

Me Ves Y Sufres

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is my first entry for Poppy's Prompts Challenge Thingo for April. I used all words. If you have time, you should also check out all the links. If not, it should stand on its own. It took such a sad turn. Cassette and Sabotage were the words I was drawn to first, as I have good and bad memories of childhood when cassettes were the thing before CDs were really a popular thing. Thanks to that word it made me think of a lot of songs I heard when I was growing up, hence the plethora of links.

Here is a link to her awesome prompt thingo -

Here is some other recent stuff by me:

vintagesurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryMental HealthheartbreakFree VerseFamilyCONTENT WARNINGart
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 22 days ago

    You're so talented Paul. "strawberry-flavoured hallucinations (laced with counterfeit sweetness)" Those are wonderful wonderful lines. I can't explain how much I adored those two. Same with "disposable hearts and soluble minds" That sounds like it belongs to a award winning song. The idea of memories being basterdised is so clever. Great idea to include songs and you did it so well. I'm in the mood to listen to Mr Blue Sky now. And thanks for being the first to do the prompts!

  • Loved this line SO much...strawberry hallucinations. What a fabulous visual

  • Memories blight the corners of my mind, misty half-full glasses memories of the way we were. Shattered pictures of the drunks we left behind.... Okay, I'm done. I will say that I like to point out that the glass is actually full: half with water, half with air, all with space. I will also say that this was painfully wistful & evocative poem, Paul. Really well done.

  • Excellent effort… all five prompts & a million great songs! I was writing an in depth comment when I glitched on a clip & lost it.😵‍💫 Short version: loved The Good The Bad and The Ugly; Abba; The Righteous Bros; ELO; Rasputin; Cat’s in the Cradle & especially The Chain!💙 Great trip down memory lane… music is so intertwined in my life too.✅

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Whoaaaa, Sir Paul, I loveeeeee what you have done here! This was so clever! Poignant yet so beautifully written! 🍩🥐

  • Jess Boyesabout a month ago

    The double edged sword of having memories and music being the trigger. I still have my cassettes. Great work, Paul

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.