Poets logo

Issa & the Prince

Fairy tale

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Issa & the Prince
Photo by Jorge Martínez, instagram @jmartinezz9 on Unsplash

There was a young beautiful fair princess named Issa, she was next in line to rule the kingdom. Growing up behind closed doors and kept away from the rest of the kingdom and world. She was good at fencing, smart at her studies but she was all alone. Her loyal nanny after her father the king commanded she find a husband being of age, she responded that the princess is mature in statue alone because she has been deprived of friends and the world. Never the less, the king command stood. Issa tried to consult the Queen, her mother. Mother how can I know love without a friend? All I know is history, I've never tried on my own. And love is too much for someone like me yet. The Queen replied, you have responsibilities, yes love is much but your father and I grew together. And I know you can if you trust your knowledge and speak your heart then you can. Exploring the world can come later but strength must be in unity and together. Issa quietly objecting. The day came for the suitors to be presented and Issa watched in fear besides her mother and father in the throne room. Issa that night feeling hopeless cried out on her balcony thinking no one would hear her. It happened a suitor came too late fighting with his squire nearby heard her. The suitor replied, you fair maiden why do you cry? I won't harm you. It tears my heart to see you cry. Issa said, I don't know but who do I have? Where can I turn to? My father, the king is choosing my future husband and I don't have a say. I want friends and I want to see the world. The suitor said, We all have responsibilities everyone and they come before everything. I'll be your friend and I'll take you to see the world. I'll learn to love you, you're beautiful and smart. I'm a prince and my word is my honor, my squire can witness.Issa agreed and in the proceedings of the king, she requested the suitor and convincing her mother to help her win over her father. Issa and the suitor did as their heart desire, travelling the kingdom and world and he protected her and their love grew where they were inseparable.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.