Poets logo

is this my world?

is this our world?

By KimmyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
is this my world?
Photo by Avery Murray on Unsplash

or is it another’s?

a god’s world

of blinding light

that does not include me

.

behave, i’m told

will make you brave, i’m told

they try to convince me

they’re the same

.

ironing out the irony

so you can’t see

the wrinkles in their plan

starch is often hard to detect

.

unless it’s cloaked around us

tight and rigid like a lock

to fit us into their ideals

to make us bleed shared blood

.

no mercy for us

no questions for us

just done to us, around us

affecting not them, but us

.

pride by pride

they only learn

how to be creative

to cover that they lied

.

and we never see these people

never meet those who do this to us

but they’re always there

hiding in private places

.

the laws didn’t suit their gods

so they made their own

to ensure my bedroom door

doesn’t close anymore

.

it’s okay they say

it’s a will of another they say

but what if my own, our own

does not obey the same

.

a place in this world

this red white and blue world

is not so for us anymore

this is no time to ignore

social commentary

About the Creator

Kimmy

My work is mostly confessional and I am trying to build a new stage for myself to be comfortable expressing my work. I'm working on a memoir right now and am trying to gain the confidence to release my story. <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KimmyWritten by Kimmy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.