Poets logo

Is There Too Much Water Under The Bridge

Or has that bridge been burnt down

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

The years have flown, have you noticed,

It’s been many, many years since we last saw each other,

Is there too much water under the bridge,

Or do we let sleeping dogs lay, rather?

***

I often sit and ponder,

Could life have turned out any other way,

Our choices definitely define us,

But will we ever find the courage to have our say?

***

Do you live with your regret,

Or even realise what it is that we missed,

Was this just our lesson to learn,

Or is this life’s sad little twist?

***

Do you lay awake at night always wondering,

As I often do,

Unfortunately I do think there’s too much water,

In fact I believe the bridge has been burnt, don’t you?

***

We both realise we don’t have forever and a day,

In fact I get the feeling it won’t be long and it’ll all be too late,

And yes, I’ll definitely feel the regret this way,

But I’ve also come to terms with our fate.

***

I silently whisper ‘I love you’ into the night,

Praying the breeze will whisk those words to you,

When you wake suddenly with no explanation,

My message has disrupted your dreams to breakthrough.

***

I do hope you don’t doubt how I truly feel,

Just because of the silence between us,

It was never about our love for each other,

But me knowing it’s too late to cause a fuss.

***

One day I’ll give you my final tears,

When you’re looking over me from high above,

I’ll explain my silence, my distance, my fears,

And I’ll send my love to you on the wings of a white dove.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Yeah, you nailed it with this one. I understand completely.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    First, I am in love with the cover photo! Just gorgeous. Second, you did a wonderful job describing how it feels to be estranged with someone. I felt all the feels with this one. Loved it :)

  • This was so touching and emotional! Very beautifully written my friend

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Left a heart!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.