Poets logo

Is it a sin? To live free.

"let me spread my wings"

By Gloria PenelopePublished 7 days ago 1 min read
1
Is it a sin? To live free.
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

Is it a sin? Being a teenager,

I'm not happy with the tenacity.

the tenacity of being judged.

I'm not happy that I have to pretend.

To hide my own self.

I behave and try to stay strong.

Is it a sin? To be me,

Why aren't you happy with my lifestyle?

Why don't you stop telling me how I should live?

I am wise enough to see the good and the evil. 

You people treat me like an idiot.

Is it a sin? To live free.

Stop freaking me out and bringing me down.

Yes, I know you're my parents.

Try to trust me; I won't let you down. 

Watch me grow, and let me spread my wings. 

I will learn things as I grow.

Is it a sin? to enjoy my life.

Allow me to enjoy my life. 

Allow me to create memories of my youth. 

Allow me to explore and learn things.

Let me be a happy teen. 

I will forever be a grateful child to you both.

I am a sad child now.

I secretly cry out of anger.

Thinking of how to live freely.

I am tired of being under your watch.

Let me live my life like any other teen.

I promise to be a good child.

Familysad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

Every creative piece is just me telling a story. Enjoy my creative writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 days ago

    Parents who makes their child feel this way should never be parents. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.