Poets logo

Invisible demons

A fight to the death

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Advent of a Demon - Kabuki theatre scene - Japan - artist unknown - public domain

Hidden demons scourge and mock me.

Crushing me, taxing my fragile soul.

Only your good grace can set me free.

0 ~

Silent derision relentlessly

Trampling my person, my heart, my all.

Hidden demons scourge and mock me.

0 ~

Try as I might, I cannot defeat these

Unassailable fears that enthral.

Only your good grace can set me free.

0 ~

Each day I suffer this constant agony

Of bitter, barbed baptism, appall.

Hidden demons scourge and mock me.

0 ~

A tortured track of sheer mental debris

Ensnaring the good efforts, failing all.

Only your good grace can set me free.

0 ~

Daily I face unforgiving propensity

To falter and fail, throw it all to the wall.

Hidden demons scourge and mock me.

Only your good grace can set me free.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Pyrography on wood panel, artist uncredited, photo: RGT

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

This is my first attempt at writing a villanelle and I am not entirely sure if this little verse quite makes the grade. Any views expressed in comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading.

Ray

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Villanelle

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    I agree with the comments. This was a great first time. So many memorable lines. Well done, Ray!

  • First attempt? I'd say you nailed it, Raymond. I pray you find the grace every single last one of us so sorely needs. And may you discover that all your hidden demons have been exorcised.

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    It is absolutely captivating for a first attempt, I enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    I loved it...great rhythm and content.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    An exceptional first vilanelle! 😊👍

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Well done! Very creative and lyrical.

  • Hey Ray. You did it. You totally did it. Super yay!!! The lines that I read over and over were "Each day I suffer this constant agony / Of bitter, barbed baptism, appall." Deep.

  • Mark Graham6 months ago

    Seems to good to me. The verses seemed to flow.

  • Natasha Collazo6 months ago

    Soooo good. The two repetitive lines were 💯

  • "A tortured track of sheer mental debris". I really loved this line a lot! I feel that you've executed the Villanelle brilliantly!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    They are deceptive for sure. I am so glad you finally made your villanelle!!!!

Raymond G. TaylorWritten by Raymond G. Taylor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.