Poets logo

Gobsmacked? You should be

In support of: The most favourite and least favourite words poetry challenge by Paul Stewart

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
Photo: Pixabay

If you say you're gobsmacked,

I really think you should be,

To help you ponder how to use,

Words more elucidatory.

Iconic is a word

I wish I'd never heard.

Iconic this, iconic that,

It really leaves me cross and flat.

If something truly is

Superlatively fab, then

Why not choose a fresher word

So my attention's grabbed?

Coruscating's seen too much,

In film reviews, critiques and such,

Why not chose 'sparkling' instead?

Two less syllables to be read.

A choice of favorite word or two

Was canvassed for this challenge.

I'll try to think of some for you,

I'll have a little scavenge.

I fear, however, I may find

So little inspiration.

When choosing words this poet binds

In verbal constipation.

For choice of words it does occur

To me that invocation

Of lexicographic finesse

Must match storification.

To choose my best word I must ask

For inspiration from above.

I cannot think of better word

Than L - O - V - E - love.

O ~ 0 ~ o

Thanks for reading and I hope I will be forgiven for the casual use of one or two of those words. I would cheekily claim poetic licence in my defence.

For those not familiar with the term 'gobsmacked', it is a UK expression of astonishment, to feel as if one has been punched in the mouth (gob). As in "When they told me I had won a poetry competition I was totally gobsmacked." It is not the kind of expression you are likely to hear from a BBC news reader.

Likewise I always think that those who say they are "gutted" ought to be. Another UK expression, this time meaning thoroughly disappointed.

Let's hope the word gobsmacked does not become iconic...

To be fair to the unnamed boxer in the Pixabay photo above, I believe she is kissing her boxing glove, rather than self-gobsmacking. May the blessing she confers on her glove bring victory in the ring, while sparing injury to her and her opponent.

And finally... on the subject of BBC and its use of language. How about this for a bit of careless usage. In a story about safety concerns on the Scottish West Coast train that features in the Harry Potter films as the Hogwarts Express, the BBC states that the train....

...operates on the iconic West Highland Line from Fort William to Mallaig.

What can be 'iconic' about a railroad line? Sloppy! Just sloppy!

Standards at the iconic BBC have never sunk so low.

Watch this space for details of the forthcoming campaign against careless use of the word iconic CACUWI, or CAC for short.

social commentaryinspirationalhumor

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Rick Henry Christopher 6 months ago

    Very well written. Excellent flow and great rhyme scheme.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Love is all you need...just ask the Beatles :) Enjoyed your poem and am now looking up some of the words you used, like gobsmacked...mostly British...aha! I, too, dislike the word, iconic. Just way too subjective and trivialized.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Oh, so well done, Raymond. A great read! Your rhythm, rhyme, voice, all so compelling! "A choice of favorite word or two Was canvassed for this challenge. I'll try to think of some for you, I'll have a little scavenge." --- "scavenge" with "challenge" -- what a brilliant choice. Yes, absolutely, "iconic" is SO overused. So many adjective are imo, and this is one that I don't think of often but when I do come across it, I rarely see it used correctly. It's one adjective that I think begs for a researched usage.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    I am so glad you entered this, Raymond. This was spectacular. Iconic is completely overused - totally agree. It's one of those go-to words...but it's lazy, I think...when people are writing film reviews, music reviews, whatever...that they can't come up with three or four other words that are better. Anyway, enough of that rant. Love the rhymes, love so many clever lines and cool words that you fit into this and because I'm a child, loved "verbal constipation" haha! Fantastic entry and you've made my job choosing a winner, much much harder. Thanks again for a superb entry!

  • Mark Graham7 months ago

    Quite the vocabulary and writing lecture you have given us to peruse.

  • Whoaaaa, I learnt so many new words from your word poem! Awesome work!

  • Daphsam7 months ago

    Very cleverly written. Well done.

Raymond G. TaylorWritten by Raymond G. Taylor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.