Poets logo

Into the Wilderness

A poem

By Matthew FrommPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Into the Wilderness
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one well-tread,

With soft a sand surface beneath my feet

And the harsh wilderness trimmed to a fringe

Even with the greater path obscured,

I can always see the trail before me.

Another road diverged into the wood,

Laying undisturbed yet ominous

Infamously taken by others

Their sordid stories studied–

Repeated so posterity may know

History's lessons in gravity

When the time comes to forge paths anew

I wish them to reflect

The intentions of the one beneath my feet

Crafted with percipience,

layer by layer,

To safely guide our adventures

So,

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–

wisely,

took the one well-tread

because unlike the other,

it didn’t lead off a fucking cliff.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N:

No commentary here at all. First sentence sampled from Robert Frost's classic poem below. If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

For FunvintageStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryslam poetryProseperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalhumorFree Versefact or fiction

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Sarah Danaher13 days ago

    I could see where it was going then the end. Good poem

  • L.C. Schäfer21 days ago

    This one made me literally laugh out loud 😁

  • Kelsey Clarey28 days ago

    This was such a great twist on the Frost poem!

  • Shirley Belk29 days ago

    Good old Robert Frost twisting in his grave...lol Good one, Matthew!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Hahahaha! I read it again after the crude realization. Nice setup with the gravity line.

  • ThatWriterWomanabout a month ago

    Okay that made me laugh out loud haha! Nice work!

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Literally LOL'd my way through your final line! Well crafted, Matthew!

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    Frost's ghost might wince at the outset but would certainly chuckle in the end.

  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout a month ago

    The inversion here was incredibly effective. Grabbed my attention and took me for a ride. Also likely relatable to a vast number of the population who would rather avoid the risk and stick with the known. And in most cases, I'm probably one of those folks.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    That ending. lol. I love how exquisite this is and properly poetic...until that last line when you bring it all together beautifully! Well done, sir!

Matthew FrommWritten by Matthew Fromm

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.