Poets logo

Instead

choices during raw heartache.

By Auntie LiciousPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Instead
Photo by - - on Unsplash

What I wanted to do, was text my lover from the summer.

My hands rolled out raspberry scones instead.

What I wanted to do, was send you a podcast about that Bittersweet book I started.

Instead, I let my hair be trimmed to the floor, your scent still clinging to the tips.

What I wanted to do, was ask "Are you sure?!"

I folded warm towels instead.

What I wanted to do, was send a beautiful photo of the me that you'll miss.

But I slathered those raspberry scones in butter instead.

What I wanted to do, was bring back your boxers I wore home last month.

Instead, I turned up my pisces playlist.

What I wanted to do, was keep my chin up to prove how loveable and strong I am.

I let the tears come instead.

What I wanted to do, was keep it all to myself, your departure folded neatly into my chest.

Instead, I reached out and received.

What I wanted to do, was declare renunciation from love, once and for all.

Then, I cried in my brother's arms instead.

Mental Healthsad poetrylove poemslistheartbreakFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Auntie Licious

She is a never ending story written in the stars.

Alyssa has been a lifelong writer, having recently begun sharing her creations more widely. Her poems are inspired by nature, heartache, activism, sensitivity and mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    I felt this one! Wonderfully written.

  • This hit me SO hard because it was extremely relatable! I'm a Pisces too so I loved the mention of Pisces playlist. I'm so sorry you're going through this 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.