Poets logo

Autonomous Traveller

winding in and out of union

By Auntie LiciousPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Autonomous Traveller
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Myriad sweet lovers and time-rich connections

As I traverse this gilded trail that shows its glinting crust

only after winding, grinding crawls through caverns

At last rising to the light of day

remembering, golden

A beloved may meet me, sparkling

to glide that polished path with me

Or, he may find me in the dark

clawing from the root-bed

Reminding me of learnings incomplete

Reminding me of yearnings at my feet

Perhaps one will pull me down, beneath the shimmering way

tempting me into shadow, testing my resolve

My sovereignty growing with each return to that which reflects daylight

Recalling that I too can travel this elevation, whether with beloved or not

It is my birthright

Happiness does not depend on partnership

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirational
1

About the Creator

Auntie Licious

She is a never ending story written in the stars.

Alyssa has been a lifelong writer, having recently begun sharing her creations more widely. Her poems are inspired by nature, heartache, activism, sensitivity and mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.