Poets logo

Inspiration

Who was the person who most inspired you?

By SonShaSil01Published 8 months ago 1 min read
Inspiration
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

“Who was the person who most inspired you?”

My paper was still blank and at midnight it was due

I stared at the question, but no one came to mind

As this person was one I had yet to find.

Should I write about Mom?

How has she inspired me?

Is it her beauty or charm

Or her Harvard degree?

I moved to type, my hands over the keys

But something inside told me to freeze.

My mom may be smart with a heart of gold,

But watch out, her temper was one to behold.

Well, how about Dad?

How has he inspired me?

Is it his strength and courage

Or his skill with skis?

I moved to type, my hands over the keys

But something inside told me to freeze.

My dad may be brave with a quick wit,

But he often had the tendency to quit.

What about my big sister?

How has she inspired me?

Is it her care-free nature,

Or her cherries jubilee?

I moved to type, my hands over the keys

But something inside told me to freeze.

My sis may be chill and love to cook,

But romance is something she tends to overlook.

So, how about my big brother?

How has he inspired me?

Is it his video game prowess,

Or his daily smile guarantee?

I moved to type, my hands over the keys,

But something inside told me to freeze.

My bro may be funny, and joy is his middle name,

But he is sometimes blinded by his desire for fame.

I looked at the time and my eyes widened in fear.

How could midnight be so near?

“Who was the person who most inspired you?”

To be honest, I still had no clue.

But then I thought, “Why must I choose?”

There were so many who were my muse.

I moved to type, my hands over the keys,

And I began to answer the question with glee:

“Who were the ones who most inspired me?”

humorinspirational

About the Creator

SonShaSil01

Hello! I'm just a normal country girl with a love for writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Oooo, this was so awesome! Loved your poem!

SonShaSil01Written by SonShaSil01

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.