Poets logo

Innocent Child

Co-written by Amy Void and Mackalan

By Eagles Published 3 years ago 2 min read
2

Another puff as another tear drops

Inhale and exhale until the pain comes to a stop

Driven by their nature, humans speak in anger

So I tied their words like a noose and left them like a cliffhanger

How do I talk to my inner child?

I'm alive but she's dead inside

Everyone wears a mask, mines is that of an adult

Conducting a hypothesis on survival mode, look, I am a clear result

Eviscerated at a young age, I live as a zombie

My life is the apocalypse that never ceases to kill me

It's not my fault that you can't contact me physically but it is my fault

Intimacy, to me, feels like an open wound that just got rubbed with salt

I've been punished for being an innocent bystander

I've been told to stay calm during the storm instead of being offered shelter

I've been blamed for circumstances out of my control

I've been compelled into silence, so how would you know?

One More Time...

To pick myself up again tonight

To deficate the doubt that lives inside

To renew the soul like a phoenix

Within the furnace is where I'll find peace once it's set alight

One More Time...

For the 3rd time I'll plagerise these words in verbatim

Lock the manacles in my mind

Extract my thoughts and sedate them

Rip my soul out and leave my flesh to cremation

My soiled existence ended for the Gods amusement

I lost my faith in the arms of the Churches retribution

You worship a God that treats women like children

1 Corinthians 14:34-35 was my absolution

Innocent Child, you're born anew

Into a culture that creates a slave out of you

Innocent Child

Be wary and open your mind

They preach against idolism but keep Crosses by their side

Their Book permits child trafficking and strives to close your 3rd eye

They pray to the Son but lost his name over time

Talks about Yahweh and Elohim aren't accepted in their eyes

Innocent Child

Open your eyes

Be mindful but don't let them fill your mind

Pay attention but keep your roots inside





sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Eagles

We write about the absolution of love and the dissolution of the soul. Poetry group comprising of the following poets;

Mackalan

Alpha Beharie

Marioson

Amy Void

Kimiera

Saveourscripts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.