Poets logo

Slowly Vanishing

Part I of a jaded love poem

By Gina C.Published 26 days ago 1 min read
10
Image created with Midjourney

I was stupid to have fallen for you.

There’s no way to look around it -

I was like a puppy…

I was lost and I

imprinted on your debonair and every move.

Cupid laced the air with all the tinted pollen of you...

and I was just a honeybee-

a guppy baited by your

player attitude.

*

I like to think I liked the chase, but

the truth is that

the possibility that you could love me

was like a drug to me -

and while I thought that I was keen and so acute,

following my dream of you was damaging,

and I was slowly vanishing…

disappearing much without a trace

or print of blue.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

Author's Note: Yes - I cheated with this one. I wrote it awhile ago and posted it to my TikTok account, but it's never been shared with Vocal. :)

This poem is part of my "Ghosts of Relationships Past" series, where I reminisce about old love experiences of mine, gone bad. :) ❤️ Follow for more drama!

*

This is Poem #7 of my personal "Poem-a-Day" challenge. ☺️ Can I keep it up? We shall see. 🫣 So far, I keep falling behind. 🫡

love poems
10

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor4 days ago

    Hi Gc - Ah, we've all experienced the 'Ah, Shucks' part of a relationship - often too soon to vanish; but such a special feeling when it happened. When you have a moment please view 'Such a Deal'...I know you've gotten a giggle from some of my goofs'. This one was special for me since the 'Salvation Army' offered me a j.o.b. after they viewed it; fer-real..! Jbud.in.l.a.

  • Cathy holmes24 days ago

    Love this "Cupid laced the air with all the tinted pollen of you...and I was just a honeybee-" beautiful words made even better with your recitation.

  • Oooo, I learnt a new word from you, debonair! Also, your poem hit me so hard. I often lose myself for others.

  • D.K. Shepard25 days ago

    Loved the use of “debonair”! And liked the puppy, honeybee, guppy comparison imagery!

  • Thavien Yliaster25 days ago

    Not cheating cause it's still You're own work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.