Poets logo

Infidelity

A poem for the broken-hearted

By Real PoeticPublished about a year ago 1 min read

Do you still love me?

You didn’t tell me I looked pretty today…

I don’t mean to be a bother.

I just could use some reassurance.

Even if you answer me,

I can’t promise there won’t be a

Reoccurrence of me asking you again.

When you don’t compliment me,

I assume you’re cheating again!

Tired of wasting tissues—

Cause you keep adding to my

Trust issues.

I’m so over crying silently…

I’d much rather jump into

Your arms excitedly.

But first, I need to know.

Where have you been?

It’s way past 10.

Wipe that grin…

It’s not funny.

And no you can’t make this

Disappear with money.

What have you done?

Don’t try to deflect.

I know that trick.

You were out late—

With some other chick!

I’m not dumb.

I smell the perfume.

Get out my room.

You’re a terrible liar…

You’re lucky I’m too kind

To set your stuff on fire.

love poemssad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    This resonated so deeply with me because as much as I wanna set their things on fire, I don't think I would be able to do it 🥺 Loved your poem!

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Very darkly humorous work & like a real convo but it rhymes. Love it! ☺️🙌👍

  • Cezanne Libellenabout a year ago

    Ouch. Cold. I can totally feel the emotions. Love it!!

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.