Poets logo

Indulgence in Innocence

A Middle-Age Escape Poem

By DaphsamPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - November 2023
Author's Photo

Oh, to indulge and be a child again

To drink a glass of milk with chocolate chip cookies

And throw away my worries

And to feel very zen.

**********

Yes, I am middle age

Who is told to watch what I eat

And not have too many a sweet

But who wants to at this stage?

***********

When I am faced

With this vision before me

Of milk and chocolate cookies, you see

The child in me says forget your waist and have a taste.

***********

Ignore the calories and the butter

that will probably clog my arteries

Those doctors are all harpies

My diet is not totally in the gutter.

************

With family genes already leaning that way

My milk and cookies spurge

Will not create a heart surge

So, what the hell, enjoy the day!

************

Let me be a child

And drink that ice cold

Glass of milk that I hold

Leaving me with a white mustache so wild.

*************

Thanks to my middle age

Hair growth on the lip and chin

A goatee that leaves my kids looking a me with a funny grin

They tell me it’s all the rage.

************

Well, not for this middle age mom

Just let me have my cookies

They are fresh, chocolatey goodies

With a gooey center that is all the bomb.

************

My dry middle age hands

Look like a crocodile reaching for his snack

Don’t try to take one first or your hand will get a smack

For each cookie already has plans.

************

An experience to behold

To break each cookie apart for some dipping

In the smooth silky milk and do some sipping

A classic tradition that never grows old.

************

A sinful aroma of

Rich milk chocolate that calls to my sweet tooth

“Eat me” and reclaim your youth.

A moment in time that is filled with sweet love.

************

Don’t remind of me the sugar

And how it’s not good for me

So what it’s in the milk and cookies

Can’t you just leave me be!

*************

There are a lot of things

Not good for me,

Too much Advil, Tylenol

Will leave my stomach very blue.

*************

What is good for me?

Happiness will feel complete

So let me live and enjoy my treat

For just a little while, I do plea.

*************

To listen to the crunch

in my mouth

As the cookie break apart to then head south

It’s a cheerful snack after lunch.

*************

So let me play and be carefree

For just a little while

As this middle age woman has been put through a trial

Life’s challenges have been out on the spree.

**************

This playful snack time

Warms my middle age heart

And gives my dreams a little start

To be that cheerful young girl not a woman in her prime.

Thank you for reading.

humor

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (29)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Chocolate chip cookies removed from the oven a minute or two before the recipe says, rising high & then dropped on the counter to lock in all that sweet tender gooeyness. Mmmmm! That's what I call being in the zone.

  • Penelope Jane5 months ago

    I remember reading this a while back and it moved me. So many feelings wrapped up in food, both good and bad, that you captured. Great job!

  • Sarah Danaher5 months ago

    Oh so true in its greatness of enjoying childhood treats and know your adulthood limitations. Yet it is nice to enjoy some milk and cookies.

  • Staringale6 months ago

    With this masterpiece you have captured the longing for the carefree indulgence of childhood juxtaposed with the realities  and restrictions of adulthood. The use of playful tone makes it enjoyable to read. A sense of nostalgia evoked with the imagery of milk and chocolate chip cookies. It is a relatable piece of work that explores the balance between responsibility and the simple pleasures of life. Love it.

  • B.R. Shenoy6 months ago

    Well-done!

  • Handyman Henry6 months ago

    This is so true! God, middle age stinks- need to have the cookies and enjoy life.

  • Isabella Rose6 months ago

    I love this. The challenges of middle age are real. I am nearing that threshold in life myself. I wanted to take some time to remind you that it's okay to do activities that are childlike to make yourself happy. I play with play-dough and draw pictures, which are both activities from my childhood, because they relax me after a long-day at work. Peace and Love.

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Congratulations on the top story!! 🎉🎉🎉

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    No matter the age, we all love our cookies and milk!!! Loved this humorous poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Colleen Millsteed 7 months ago

    Oh as a middle aged woman I can totally relate. Congratulations on your Top Story.

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    This is brutally honest, self-deprecating and funny. I loved it!

  • Z.a.i.n.t.z7 months ago

    One of the best I've read this week. Fantastic ❤️❤️❤️❤️🤞🏾🎯

  • Malky McEwan7 months ago

    Brings back memories

  • Carmellita 7 months ago

    Sometimes, we want cookies! Yes, to indulge. The cookies I remember most from my childhood were ginger snaps. I indulge in them maybe once a year. I, now a woman have to have Gluten-free of course.

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    ❤ UberFabulous! :)

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    Darn you, anyway!! NOW I WANT A COOKIE!! (lol) Oh well, in a few days, I'll be making my apple turnovers (fat city, here I come). I really enjoy writing silly poems - that's the little girl in me ... (my body tells me, oh for heaven's sake grow up you old bat!! Nah! This 76 years old lady enjoys being silly. GLAD YOU WROTE THIS ... I don't feel so alone now. :) and congratulations on TS. You deserve it.

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    Ha! This middle-age woman wants cookies too! Loved this delightful and down-to-earth poem...but now I want to go bake cookies :)

  • KJ Aartila7 months ago

    As an upper-middle aged woman experiencing the age-related challenges, I do love me a good chocolate chip cookie or two!

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    Very well said. Oh to be a child again and not worry about all the problems that come with age. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    😊👏 HAHA. “Eat me” and reclaim your youth” ..Alice vibes! Congrats on your moreish top story Daphne! ☺️ 🍪

  • Salman siddique7 months ago

    Daphne Immensely talented!!

  • Test7 months ago

    Impressive effort! Keep up the phenomenal work—congratulations!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Wonderful, nostalgic, and just yummy. Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    And now I need some cookies BADLY 🤣🤣 this was great!

  • Xine Segalas7 months ago

    Nice! Congrats on your top story!

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.