Poets logo

In the end

Love poem

By Irina PattersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Collage by the author, Irina Patterson, images — one by the author and one from Unsplash*

In the end,

caught in the mesh

of old age confusion,

with my lips shrunk

into a line of coarse jute,

I will still love you.

It is simple.

We exist because love prevails.

That’s how we come into being and keep going.

When the vivid colors fade,

the music dims,

and breathing gets to be a job,

I will still love you.

Don’t get me wrong,

I understand the laws of time

and how our golden days get lost

in deep narrow ravines of aging.

They suffocated under the steep cliffs,

on the barren beaches,

can’t be found like little islands of treasure coins…

They become

a pale mirage of boats receding into the horizon.

Yes, okay, I accept the conclusion.

I can see it now.

My faint spirit is drifting out

into the open sea

to join yours there, where

our two hearts will reconnect,

rejoin, reclaim each other

clamping tightly together,

two shells of one scallop,

we remain attached

now and forever.

one to another.

. . .

*One of the images used in the collage is from the author, another one from Unsplash

Also published on Medium.

. . .

© Irina Patterson, January 26, 2022

Thank you for reading, my other stories are here.

Love, Irina

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.