Poets logo

Your Mama Was Right

Crazy love like ours could never last

By Irina PattersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
image credit https://pixabay.com/illustrations/few-pair-togetherness-together-2028068/

Your mama was right.

Even though she is long time gone,

In honor of her memory, she was right.

We were wrong for one another right from the start.

But we were eighteen and who needs mama's advice then.

And even though our marriage was brief like winter rain,

I wouldn't change a thing;

Would you?

The painful mistakes of youth are like badges of honor -- we got our share,

And even though I still love you in my own ironic way;

I'm glad you've built a life for yourself with

Someone else who is sane and sound,

Because like your mama said,

Crazy love like ours simply

Didn't have a future.

. . ,

- by Irina Patterson January 11, 2022

. . .

Thank you for reading, my other stories are here.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.