Poets logo

In Stride

by Richard Naviasky

By Richard NaviaskyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

In Stride

by Richard Naviasky

Someday when I’m fifty-five

I may lose my faculties,

or I may get a tooth disease,

or by then I might have fleas.

But if I fall apart, oh please,

I hope I’ll keep my memories,

I hope at least I’ll keep my memories.

I’ve lost my hair, I’ve lost my lungs,

but I still have a gifted tongue

for singing about life and love,

and I ain’t going nowhere, son.

I’m older now, I’ve hit my stride.

I’m not exactly a fine wine,

but thank god I’m still alive.

Thank god I am still alive.

I’ve been around a time or two,

but, goddam, a girl like you

only comes around once in a lifetime.

Now here I am in my stride

with a fine girl at my side.

That’s you and me in stride

walking through our lives side by side.

Back when I was twenty-two

I drank away my faculties.

I didn’t know what I would be

by the time that I reached thirty-three.

The years to come were all hazy

with choices that I couldn’t see,

and that was just fine with me.

I was twenty-two and in my stride,

not belted in for any ride,

just wandering throughout my mind

knowing I had time on my side.

I wrote this song at fifty-one,

and looking back on all I’ve done

I’ve had a daughter and a son,

and been myself to everyone.

I’ve glided through the horizon

and fought my way into the sun.

You’re damn right I’m proud of all I’ve done.

Now here I am, still in my stride,

keeping pace with my own life

with arms up for this wild ride

until it takes me to the other side.

love poems

About the Creator

Richard Naviasky

This lover of words is a retired NYC firefighter (2/4/2001-2/4/2021) living now in Colorado where I write, draw silly pictures, play guitar, and keep writing...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Richard NaviaskyWritten by Richard Naviasky

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.