Poets logo

In One Minute

You Shattered My Entire World.

By Carol TownendPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
6
In One Minute
Photo by Alin Luna on Unsplash

Before I met you.

I was a red flower, blooming and dancing in the sun,

I was always happy and having fun;

I had hopes, dreams and I enjoyed living,

I was known for being flirty and outgoing,

I danced the night away with friends,

And I never shied away from trying new trends;

I lived life to the full,

And I used to think I was beautiful.

After I Met You.

I became sad and dull,

The sun faded from the moment

we were one;

I became that girl who wore the name,

"punchbag and victim,"

I lost my sunshine and forgot how to dance,

I refused to take another chance;

Another chance of happiness,

Fulfilling career goals,

Relationships,

And friendships.

My confidence drowned in an angry sea,

A life of tears and bruises,

You served me;

I lost my will to shine,

Dance,

Love,

And achieve.

All of me drowning in me.

In One Minute

Everything changed,

I became a mum, and then you changed!

Gone was the happy woman I used to be,

Replaced by broken dreams and tears for an eternity,

Tormented;

Life turned upside down,

You stole everything I loved from me,

And you also stole my identity.

You turned me into nothing;

Made me feel worthless,

Hopeless,

Ugly,

And unlovable;

You left me shattered into tiny pieces,

Not even leaving a shadow of the loving

girl that I once knew I was.

Everything changed

I thought that minute was going to last forever,

Then, I met someone;

Someone who saw what I was worth

Loved me as I was,

Stayed with me through the happiness and the pain,

And still loves me today.

No fool.

I want you to know;

I am no longer the fool you thought I was,

I don't need you anymore;

I'm happier today than I ever thought I could be,

I live my life, and I am me;

I have something you can't take away,

A life of love for eternity.

social commentaryslam poetryMental Healthlove poemsheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Eff the a-hole forever and keep the nice kind one who doesn’t swat you down. Great job.

  • What a sad and terrific poem! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.