Poets logo

In my hands

by H. H. Lynn

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
17
What these hands can hold...

In my hands,

I can hold

A thousand

Pretty things.

Hopes,

And dreams,

And promises

Held in offering.

A kiss,

A squeeze,

A soft caress,

A shiny, shiny ring.

Butterflies,

And compliments,

And magic

Sweet nothings.

But in my hands,

I also hold

So much suffering

And pain.

Clenched hands

In fists,

And grasping claws,

And angry, angry veins.

Cuts,

And cracks,

And bitter slaps,

And flightless words in chains.

The good,

The bad,

The in between

In my hands, remain.

The choice is with me

All the moments of

Each and every day–

I can use my hands to hold or simply fade away.

***

This poem was inspired by the artwork/graphic I came up with, which then lead to the title. The first poem I wrote for it did not match though, and I went with something else entirely. But for some reason, I just kept coming back to this title and image over and over again. A few days of stewing, and I was finally ready to give it some concerted effort. The words just flowed then into this lovely little thing.

I hope you enjoyed this piece as much as I loved writing it :)

inspirational
17

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Incredibly, writers can effortlessly leave one piece and start on a new one, only to reconsider and revise the previous one. Like, I don't think I'm that creative 😳

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    This is so brilliant!!!!

  • Wow this is an awesome piece of writing. Absolutely brilliant.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Beautiful poem! I love the contrast in everything one’s hands are capable of.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    I so love this poem of yours ,hearted♥️🌹

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Lovely ❤️

  • This was absolutely stunning Heather :).thank you so much for your comments and love to my poem! I appreciate the support! I look forward to more of your creations! :) ❤️

  • This was just so beautiful! We can use our hands positively and negatively. It's all in our hands. A fantastic metaphor!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome inspirational poem!!!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful poem.

  • I like the simplicity and the contrast.

  • Beautifully written poem!

  • Beautiful words in a beautiful form

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.