Poets logo

On that Tuesday

by H. H. Lynn

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2022
31
Reflecting on the day after the parade, the holiday, the special event.

It's that Tuesday,

After that Monday

When everyone was high on life–celebrating,

When normal was tucked away and everything was special.

Nothing feels the same on that Tuesday,

After that Monday

Even though my reflection hasn't changed...

Much.

Up close I can see the ghost of a smile,

One that speaks to the butterflies in my stomach

Still fluttering around from that Monday–

Echoes of freedom and acceptance and love.

But today is that Tuesday,

After that Monday,

And I'm not sure what matters in the after

And the in between.

Is it hopes and dreams?

The reality I make?

Finding joy in between big moments?

A who instead of a what?

I think I'm figuring it out a little each day.

What I do know is on that Tuesday,

I'm still a child of divorce.

A victim of abuse.

A woman in a man's world.

Monday's exuberance can't change

That I know the burden of loneliness.

The unfairness of sexism.

The cynicism of aging.

On that Tuesday,

I'm still a daughter who lost her mother this year.

Confused on how to feel when the relationship was rough.

Sad for missing what was missing.

On that Tuesday,

I'm still a mother of four,

And even on that Monday because

Motherhood. Never. Stops.

I still cry at night when no one sees;

Sad my babies aren't little anymore.

The hugs and kisses have slowed.

Time spent together is different.

On that Tuesday,

After that Monday

I'm still trying to find moments for myself;

To remember me.

Stolen moments to read,

To write,

To slow down and just be;

Enjoy time with people I choose.

On that Tuesday,

After that Monday,

The world keeps moving

But people seem to stay the same.

The fleeting fellowship from the day before has faded.

The population remains divided.

The name of love is used to hate.

Relationships are suffering.

Despite that Monday,

Before that Tuesday

When everyone tried to get along,

Nothing has really changed.

But maybe it could. Maybe I could.

I think I'm figuring it out a little each day.

Maybe that Tuesday,

After that Monday

Could be its own kind of special;

And so could the Wednesdays all the way through the Sundays.

Perhaps on that Tuesday,

I'll give myself some grace.

Smile at my reflection and

Move forward instead of looking back.

So on that Wednesday,

I'll feel more confident

And maybe a little less sad, angry.

I might want to 'people' a bit.

But maybe that Thursday,

Will be too hard,

And I won't feel like trying to be someone better.

I'll just want to wallow in my misery.

But hopefully on that Friday,

I can pull myself together.

Focus on what's good.

Let go of other's expectations.

So when that Saturday rolls around,

I can feel free to live life without reservation.

Strive to learn something new and understand better.

Love more fiercely.

And on that Sunday,

Oh, that Sunday before that Monday

When anticipation is high,

I want to breathe out the grace I've given myself and

bestow it on others, because we all need it.

Because that Monday is coming.

And I want it to be a reflection of all the Tuesdays

Through Sundays that came before.

I want those butterflies of freedom, acceptance and love

to be present every day.

I hope when it's that Tuesday again,

After that Monday

When everyone is high on life,

That it feels normal to be special.

social commentary
31

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I loved the repetition, which was stunning and so nice to read.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is stunning. That's all I'm gonna mumble on it. oh and that I love the concept of using that Tuesday after that Monday and flowing from that! Sublime writing from the Hubler!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I feel you ♥️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is highly relatable and hit me with so many emotions. I super love what you did with the days of the week here...and found it especially poetically beautiful how you phrased it "That Tuesday after that Monday"... wow! Wonderfully, wonderfully done! :)

  • Paul Levinsonabout a year ago

    Here's to ghost of smiles turning into real smiles.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This started out so light and easy then turned so deep and powerful then healing and hopeful. Loved it!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Oh my gosh, Heather I love this! Very evocative and relatable.

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Great piece. So relatable.

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    This is so beautiful! I love the connection you made between the days of the weeks and the emotions

  • This comment has been deleted

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    I feel like this should read aloud in the theatre. I'll think of this poem many a Tuesday now.

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    I loved how you used days of the week to relate emotions. Beautiful ❤️

  • Sooji Fyrd2 years ago

    I love your honesty, this is really what it feels like isn't it? the world never stops for anyone. I like how you use the days of the week to talk about the past present and future...and your hopes for the future. I found your poem very relatable and genuine.

  • Very raw and evocative!

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    I have a lot in common with the narrator. Motherhood. Never. Stops. Nice work, nailed the prompt perfectly.

  • This was a fantastically written poem!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    A unique concept to incorporate into poetic form. Nicely done!

  • Luna Jupiter2 years ago

    Truly engaging and so relatable! I enjoyed every bit of this piece. Great work!!!

  • Evocative, detailed, and descriptive! This was very well done, thank you for sharing!!

  • A true description of daily social life.

  • John Eva2 years ago

    Really well done!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    wow. That is fantastic. Well done.

  • That is some journey, absolutely excellent

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.