Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

In Between

Poem

By LilyPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
In Between
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I think I finally understand myself

The reason why happiness and sadness

Live simultaneously inside me

At times one or the other fully consumes me

Never balanced, never truly present

I think I’ve figured it out

My melody, my malady

You see, I’m in between

On the constant move

Not fully here, not fully there

Half present, half gone

Now here is the thing I cannot say

Even to those who know me me the best

I’m stuck between life and death

Longing for each side but not being on either end

Would they understand the longing?

Would everything finally make sense?

Or like me would they judge me and want to shake me till I wake?

There is no right answer, only the truth

I’m stuck in between

Not fully here, not fully there

I have to force myself to be here, now!

Isn’t that where life is?

Split down the middle

Living halfway, in half truths, in half loves

Always pulling back

I must choose to live!

Leave the in between where no life is

sad poetryProseart

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LilyWritten by Lily

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.