Poets logo

Complicated

Poem

By LilyPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Complicated
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I’m a complicated woman

I’m complicated being

Because I’m nothing like I seem

So sorry to those

Drawn to this shell

Sorry that I smiled

And made you feel well

Now more than ever

It is evident to me

My mind is enough

To keep me company

Still, I try so hard to conform

Stretch out my arms to fit into the mold

Fill my days and phone with

Normal everyday folks

Try as I might I cannot deny

The mold breaking beneath my feet

Perhaps mold-less me is free

I can finally feel as normal as can be

Why must it be?

Why must I need to have and show

What they all want of me?

Aren’t I enough, just one of me?

Living is enough

Lying is tiring

Happiness is with me

As hard as it is for you to see

I'm a complicated woman

I'm a complicated being

In your eyes

I will always be

This summer I would like to be more consistent with my writing. I would like to upload poems and stories I have been working on at least 3 times a week. I would really appreciate if you can subscribe, tip or pledge whatever you can so that I might be able to bring more content to you.

Thank you from The Complicated Woman

Mental Health

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Society is a labyrinth of mirrors designed to trap the soul. True individuality is bought at what first seems a dear price but eventually reveals itself to be a steal. Well-wrought! Best wishes in your artistic endeavors!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Your poem resonated with me so deeply. I loved it!

LilyWritten by Lily

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.