Poets logo

Illumination

Dreaming With Eyes Open

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Illumination
Photo by Thor Alvis on Unsplash

I fell asleep last night

feeling heavy

spending hours as I

tossed and turned

through all the

layers of my sheets

Draped in judgment

cushioned safely in

unwanted opinions

and projections —

Who w/could I be

when I give

this shame away?

Peeling back the

first, only foreign

remains revealed

underneath the

surface.

Years fighting within

my own vessel, a

violent voice echos

through the cracks:

“make my mind mute”

But a knowing

softly simmers in a

home of deep resilience that

serves without notice

to an owner

who is - dissonant.

Still, what’s raw burns

the palms of the

brave, who are

seeking;

so ignite me.

Blazing a brilliance

no eye will see just

where one ember meets the

core, yet “you’re glowing!”

My! a wild

inferno impassioned in

me?

Soot smudged edges

enlighten, and yet I am

no dust nor ash,

I am; light.

- Illumination

performance poetry

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Just Daniel2 years ago

    I absolutely love the imagery you used in this poem alongside the oxymoron of the sheets-seemingly giving you comfort but at the same time, suffocating you, making trapping you within. I feel this. However, the spark within will prevail to the very end, building in power to become a steady flame unwavering.

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverWritten by NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.