Poets logo

If you know, you know

Content Warning - Plus, I'm okay.

By Paul StewartPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
21

If you know, you know

lights red

time green

step on future

end future

easy for me

to let go

to give in

auto collision desires

tyremarks

leave marks

erase soul marks

Selfish? yes

easy for me

not behind the wheel

under wheel

blackout

quick fix

no fix

pain inherited

by...

those left behind

if you know, you know

"it doesn't really matter"

one step

off the pavement

into nothing

the pull is strong

dive into the cold

loch, lake or river

pulled under

the undercurrent

erase the undercurrent

of sadness

powering my soul

chilling me

erasing everything

blue skin

easy for me

struggle for breath

struggle to stay afloat

pulled under

the lack of breath

the end

quick fix

Blackout

quick fix

no fix

pain inherited

by...everyone left behind

Selfish? yes

easy for me

not the search party

if you know, you know

one dive

off the shore

into nothing

if you know, I'm sorry

burden

may always be there

behind everything

but

hope is there

lift it

give it

burden

pain

suffering

weight of all

suffocating you

help is there

if you know, you know

reach out

under the wheel

under the current

doesn't need to be the end

"Everybody Hurts"

headlights

searchlights

don't need to be the end

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: More trickle-trickle- publishing. Trust me, I'm alright. Despite how it sounds. Just expressing, getting rid of some stuff.

For something different...

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryMental HealthheartbreakFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
21

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler2 months ago

    Letting out the toxins slowly so they don't overwhelm the system, creating beauty despite the pain. Well-wrought, friend!

  • Test3 months ago

    Felt this one Paul. Beautifully expressed but so sad nontheless. So often blackout has felt like a good out x Take care 🤍

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Oh shit. I'll believe you when you say you're okay, but knowing that these thoughts have occurred to you means that you haven't been okay in the past, and damn, that is a whole ass story right there. Your stellar poetic voice is really shining bright in this one. The repetition of "if you know you know" and "easy for me" is my favorite part of this; each line creates the rhythm of the piece, frames off particular transitions/themes, like drowning versus falling versus crashing. I can't say I know, exactly, but I kind of do. I relate to the sadness and hopelessness and the hatred of life, but I'm very glad to read the end of this one, as it pokes some holes of hope into the fabric of wanting it all to be over. Fantastic. Ditto to Poppy; my favorite of yours so far. But of course, it's impossible to land on a favorite with your work.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Holey moley, that good. And Rae, and powerful. Well done, Buddy.

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Well, I know. Glad you're with us to share this story, and all your others. And then also, like, ditto to everything Poppy said. <3

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    I'm adding this to my mental list of favourites. The short punchy lines made it so raw and impactful. "lights red time green" I was drawn in by this line but ended up admiring the poem more and more as it went on. "if you know, I'm sorry" That was utterly heartbreaking. If this poem had've found me at a different time, that simple line would've probably brought me to tears. "hope is there lift it give it" So simple and yet powerful. "headlights searchlights don't need to be the end" That ending was the most perfect finish to this marvelous poem. Truly, a beautiful poem - acknowledging the depths of depression etc but still offering hope. I'm going to ignore the subtitle though and make sure, are you doing okay?

  • Ruth Stewart4 months ago

    Glad you're okay. Well written. Good stuff.

  • I'm glad you're okay. Still, the words ring far too true for many of us even to make it to your closing adjurations. Yep, next appointment is 11 a.m. Wednesday. We'll see.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    I think this is a common intrusive thought. Thanks for sharing this! ☺️ Have a swell day!

  • Gosh, this was so intense and quite unsettling. Like we gotta always stay vigilant. I'm just glad you're okay but still sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    Ouch. This poem was such a kick in the gut.😣 I love the statement of the search party. Like you were saying how lost you were, and that they'd never find you. As always, wonderful writing, Paul. Truly poignant and powerful.

  • The Dani Writer4 months ago

    Where poetic grit meets the road. No apologies. This...is what it does for us. Bravo Brave One!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Pulling no punches with the hard hitting stuff, today! Did you write it as verses? Sometimes I do that but V loses line breaks.

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Oh goodness. I could feel my chest tightening half way through that. Oof. Glad you are ok. This reels and that picture is ace!

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Paul you are a brilliant writer. So glad that Hope emerged to offer support. Blessings to you always. Hope you feel better soon.

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Quite powerful

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    You knew you knew...

  • Sheila L. Chingwa4 months ago

    Well written. If you know, you know.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I love this expression of pain inherited.

  • Oh the pain of a car accident Good poem

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Glad you're okay! That gave me anxiety, lol. Not in a bad way, it's just the effect the words had, racing down the page. Well done!!!

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Yep. If you know you know.

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    Auto collision desires 👏 well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.